The 3rd International Olympiad of Metropolises
  • Total area: 17,125,191 km² 
  • Population: 146 544 710 people (2016)
  • Official  language: Russian
  • Capital: Moscow
  • The head of state:  the President of the Russian Federation
  • International dialing code:  +7
  • Currency: 1 russian ruble = 100 kopecks. Official exchange rates of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation;
  • The average temperature in September (in Moscow): + 11,3 C

Russia (the official name of the Russian Federation) is the largest country in the world that occupies more than one-eighth of the Earth's land and is located on two continents - Europe and Asia. The country spans 11 time zones.

Russian climate is incredibly diverse due to the vast territory of the country. It changes from the Arctic and sub-Arctic in the north  to temperate and subtropical in the south. 

Russia is inhabited by more than 100 ethnic groups, the largest of them are Russian, Tatars, Ukrainians and Bashkirs. The largest religion confessions are Christianity (mainly Orthodox, there are also Catholic and Protestant), Islam and Buddhism.